poplafancy.blogg.se

Semisonic closing time date
Semisonic closing time date







  1. SEMISONIC CLOSING TIME DATE SERIES
  2. SEMISONIC CLOSING TIME DATE TV

to be warm, welcoming, impersonal, weird, and scary at the same time. in 2011, and I’m still getting used to it,” he says. “I moved with my family to the San Fernando Valley in L.A. Today Billboard is exclusively premiering Wilson’s next new tune, “Uncanny Valley,” which he says, as the title suggests, is about living in the Los Angeles suburbs.

SEMISONIC CLOSING TIME DATE SERIES

In September, he released “We Ain’t Telling,” the first of a series of songs he plans to put out on a regularly basis, instead of releasing a new album. Since the release of that set, Wilson is continuing on both fronts. It features Wilson’s versions of co-writes originally made famous by other artists, including Adele’s Grammy-winning chart-topper “Someone Like You,” the Dixie Chicks’ “Not Ready to Make Nice,” Taylor Swift’s “Treacherous” and others. His 2017 album, Re-Covered, offers the best overview of both of those worlds. After a while, I had written a bunch of other things, and those were the things that paved the way, but for a while, ‘Closing Time’ surely did that.”Īside from working as a songwriter and producer, Wilson also continues to work as a recording artist. It actually was a song they dug, so that creates some level of trust and comfort. It wasn’t like I wrote the biggest guilty pleasure for the artists that I worked with. “I also think it was the kind of thing that the artists who worked with me all liked as a song. So it made me seem like a person who could somehow magically cause lightning to strike,” he says. “Because all the people that I co-wrote with, or the producers that I worked with, had all happily listened to that song 100 times. Still, Wilson acknowledges it was “Closing Time” that opened the door to those other things. “You gotta move on at some point, and do other things.” “For a while, I would sort of irritatedly cite that we had another huge hit everywhere else, but then that was just me saying I was a two-hit wonder,” he adds. 11 on the Alternative Songs chart, as well as “Secret Smile,” which reached No. Feeling Strangely Fine also included “Singing in My Sleep,” which reached No. “I think there was a time that I was defensive” because of that perception, Wilson adds. Some might perceive Semisonic as a one-hit wonder, but that isn’t the case. Some bouncers yelling things, closing time coming, all that imagery, literally, that’s how the song started and then when I was halfway done, I started realizing the whole thing was a pun about being born, so I just made sure that the rest of the thing could ride with that double meaning, but nobody got the joke and I didn’t bother to explain. We had spent seven years of our lives at that point, four nights a week entertaining people. “I thought ‘Closing Time’ would be a good title. “The guys wanted a new song to close our sets with,” Wilson says. It’s partially inspired by the birth of his daughter, Coco.

SEMISONIC CLOSING TIME DATE TV

It’s appeared in several films and TV shows, including How I Met Your Mother, and has become a “last call” anthem of sorts.Ī decade ago, Wilson revealed that the song also has a meaning that runs a bit deeper. Meanwhile, “Closing Time” continues to have a life of its own. Following the release of All About Chemistry they went on an extended hiatus, but still occasionally reunite for charity gigs in their hometown of Minneapolis. Semisonic, which also includes bassist John Munson and drummer Jacob Slichter, never officially broke up. The good luck of the song was much bigger than the good luck of the band, but the band was also very, very lucky.” “Mostly I think of ‘Closing Time’ as the lightning of good luck that struck me. “You can’t really decide what kind of lottery you’re going to win,” Wilson says. All About Chemistry, the band’s 2001 follow-up album, failed to reach the commercial heights of its predecessor, but it notably contained “One True Love,” a song Wilson co-wrote with legendary singer/songwriter Carole King. It also put Wilson on the map as a noted songwriter. It subsequently helped push Feeling Strangely Fine to platinum sales. “Closing Time” went on to top the Alternative Songs chart and garner a Grammy nomination for best rock song. Levin, who died in a dirt-biking accident in 2010, was correct. The album, expanded for the CD and digital release with four B-sides, is also being released on vinyl, marking the first time one of the band’s releases has been issued on vinyl. “Closing Time” was the big hit on Semisonic’s second album, 1998’s Feeling Strangely Fine, which is being celebrated again with a recently released 20th anniversary reissue.









Semisonic closing time date